Introducing the hardline according to Digby Warde-Aldam

6 Jul

Hello, and welcome to the monumental irrelevance that is tescoinferno. In the unlikely event that anyone actually ever reads this drivel, I feel I should give some sort of a précis as to what this blog is about. Unfortunately, I myself am not quite sure of this, but logically, it will probably end up covering the sort of stuff I’m interested in- London, cooking, pop music and… um… well, that’s about it, really.

My story is neither unique nor interesting, but I’ll bore you with it anyway. I was born in West London, and later moved to Northumberland with my family. I returned to London in 2005 aged 16, and until last year lived very happily in an apartment off the North End Road. I’m increasingly of the opinion that London is slightly wasted on those who’ve spent their whole lives here, and feel incredibly privileged to have both the native Londoner’s inherent metropolitan snobbery as well as the wide-eyed wonder of the provincial bumpkin. I’ve been obsessed with this city ever since I moved back here, and have thought about little else since. For four years I wrote a column for a local newspaper, a freesheet which in theory had over quarter of a million readers. The publication was cut by the government earlier this year, and with it disappeared any claim I might ever have had to success. Last September, I moved to Paris for ten months as part of my degree. It was, to put it mildly, a pretty depressing experience, of which the less said the better- not that I got up to much there.

I’m now, praises be, back in the smoke for good. I’m renting a room in the transient climes of SE11, from which I can see both the Houses of Parliament and the MI6 building. In the words of Gary Glitter, it’s good to be back.

I am completely unqualified to write about anything other than myself, and thus can make no claim to impartiality or authority. Naturally, you might now be asking yourself what the point is- and believe you me, I am too- but if you’ve got this far already, you’re probably actively trying to waste your time anyway.

Still with me? Good. I can tell we’re going to get on famously.

À la prochaine,

Digby

One Response to “Introducing the hardline according to Digby Warde-Aldam”

  1. Lily and the Hackabouts July 14, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    BIG JIM! bloody hell you’re funny.

Leave a Reply

